Blog #3 Stages of the Montessori method

"The stages of development according to Montessori"

From birth to maturity, we go through different stages that are differentiated by their own unique characteristics. These stages or plans, depending on how you want to call them, Maria Montessori divided them and classified them as follows:

courtesy: Escuela Bitacoras

Stage 1. Absorbing mind of the child (0 to 6 years)

The first stage of the child, which goes from birth to 6 years, is when he absorbs all the information and stimuli from what surrounds him.

At the same time, they become aware of their surroundings and their being. This stage has two parts or phases, differentiated by the level of consciousness that the baby reaches. One is the unconscious mind and the other is the conscious mind.

courtesy: criar con sentido comun.

1.The Unconscious mind (0-3 years)

In the first part of the stage, between birth and 3 years of life, the child is soaked in the world around him but without being conscious yet, that is why they have defined it as the "unconscious mind".

Which does not mean that the mind is not working. On the contrary, it is a sponge that absorbs all the information and interprets all the stimuli that are around it.

 2. The conscious mind (3-6 years)

In the phase from 3 to 6 years, the child develops memory and language even more and more. His reasoning is increasingly complex, as well as his abilities to solve the problems he faces. It is the phase of the conscious mind in the absorbing mind.


Stage 2- Childhood period (6-12 years)

In this second stage, children are already capable of thinking about things and questioning what surrounds them in a more important way. It is the stage of questions and searches for answers, social relationships, the search for belonging to the group and ethical development.

It is also during this stage that they acquire learning of a cultural nature. The development of the senses, typical of the preceding stage, gives way to rational development.

Courtesy: MovistarPlus

Stage 3 - Adolescence (12-18 years)

In this stage is when children stop being and begin to develop their independence. According to Montessori, this stage is divided into two moments: puberty and adolescence.

This first phase is related to a “new birth”. For something Maria Montessori said that adolescents in the puberty phase were "social newborns."

But unlike the previous birth, let's say the "real" one, during this phase the physical and psychological changes affect in a very profound way: fears and insecurities, new ideas and doubts as well as powerful emotional impulses appear.

Hormones have a lot to do with it, as there is a real "explosion" in that sense. It is a stage that requires a lot of accompaniment, listening and understanding, both in the pedagogical field and at home.
In this phase, adolescence is a step into the adult world. It is here when the responsibility with what surrounds it is consolidated.
The idea of understanding how the stages work does not only focus on what would be the academic or structured of a Montessori school. The different stages also serve to organize household chores, as well as the material available.

See you soon in a new blog and never forget, that we learn by playing.

xoxo AZ.